The plans you get back from asset owners in response to your enquiry will have a validity or expiry date printed on them. This is typically 28 or 30 days from the date of your enquiry. If the validity dates of plans expire, a new Before You Dig enquiry must be submitted.
For long-running projects, the enquiry auto-renew feature ensures you always have the latest plans to hand by automatically resubmitting your enquiry every 28 days for the duration of your project.
Note: auto-renew has a maximum repeat time limit of 6 months before you need to submit a new enquiry. This ensures that any changes to the scope of works or contact details for the enquirer are kept up-to-date.
When you are lodging an enquiry, if the job end date is more than 28 days in the future you will be presented with the Auto-renew options. Activate auto-renew by clicking on the switch and then choosing your auto-renew end date.
The latest that you can set the Auto-renew until date is the earlier of the job end date or six months from today. For obvious reasons, you can’t keep auto-renewing an enquiry beyond the job end date.
How auto-renew works
For a job that is set to auto-renew, a new enquiry will be submitted automatically every 28 days from the original lodgement date. The job start date will be moved to the current date each time the enquiry is re-submitted.
You will receive the job confirmation email and all of the responses as per a standard enquiry.
If your job finishes early, or the scope of works changes, it is important that you cancel auto-renew on the enquiry so that the asset owners don’t keep receiving your enquiry.
You can cancel auto-renew in two ways. Firstly, find the enquiry in your enquiry history and scroll down to show the Auto-renew properties. Clicking on auto-renew reveals options to turn off or change the end date for auto-renew.
Alternatively, when you receive the job confirmation email, you can click on the Cancel auto-renew for this job button to immediately stop future renewals.
Tip: You can find all of your auto-renew enquiries using the “Only with Auto-renew pending” search filter in your My enquiries page.